Press / Reviews

What people say:

Chicago Weekly | October 19, 2011 “A New Song”

“This kind of camaraderie is exactly what the People’s Stage was designed for: belting out a ballad that a singer takes to heart, knowing that the crowd will join in on the refrain. The stage belongs to everyone.”

Thumbtack reviews:

  • 5/5 stars March 14, 2014

    Three words to describe Pablo – dedicated, talented, artist. He brings all 3 qualities & shares them with not only his family but with his students & community. He is a true entrepreneur & focuses on what is important for your event. He has a contagious smile & a great attitude. And he will help you sing if he knows the song. Best karaoke DJ in Chicago!

    Erika T.

  • 5/5 stars March 13, 2014

    I must say, Pablo Serrano surpassed my expectations for a successful party. I had hired Pablo for my daughter’s 11th birthday. He arrived 20 minutes before his actual asked arrival time, which was 11am on a Sunday. He was awake, energetic, and ready to work. I have never thrown a karaoke party, and was not sure what to expect. Pablo came with a complete set up, and then some. He had lights, large speakers, dj equipment, enough mics for my guests, and songbooks for each table at my event. Very pleased. What my guests loved the most was Pablo’s smile. Not only was he a fantastic dj, but his personality shined throughout the whole event. Absolutely outstanding. Thank you Pablo for making my daughter’s birthday party a memorable one. I would definately hire you for another event. Great job.

    Michelle S.

  • 5/5 stars February 21, 2014

    There is nothing more absolute than the greatness achieved by Pablo Serrano when it comes to karaoke. He is inclusive and creates community through his events. He is accommodating and makes people feel comfortable. What’s more, he’s a fabulous singer and will back you up if all else fails.

    Brook S.

  • 5/5 stars February 19, 2014

    Best karaoke DJ in the city of Chicago. Not an exaggeration. Unlike most karaoke DJs who give you attitude when you request a song, Pablo goes the extra mile to get your song in. The most impressive part is that he’s an excellent DJ as well, so he’s able to mix both people singing and his own songs to get people on the dance floor. The only karaoke DJ I know who does karaoke to build community on an almost nightly basis.

    Peter J.

  • 5/5 stars February 18, 2014

    Very professional, friendly and an excellent dj. He can find just about any tune if, which is rare, he doesn’t have it, in English or Spanish. HIGHLY recommend!

    Augustine M.

  • 5/5 stars February 18, 2014

    Just magic. Great music, keeps inertia, fun entertainment by such a professional.

    Rito M.

  • 5/5 stars February 18, 2014

    Pablo is hands-down the best Karoake host I’ve ever experienced. Not only does he have an incredible list that includes current hits (both in English and Spanish), but if there is a song you want to sing that he doesn’t have, he’ll work to find it. He is genuinely interested in seeing performers be successful and will sing backup with you, run light shows, etc just to make everyone feel awesome on stage. That energy is shared by all patrons in the bar too- it’s incredibly supportive all the time.

    I also had the pleasure to work with Pablo at several private events (a wedding and a birthday party). He’s extremely professional and bring the same energy to the group. His fees are reasonable and his friends/support staff are awesome to work with too. Overall, there isn’t a better host in Chicago or, perhaps, the whole Midwest!

    Stephen F.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    Pablo’s Karaoke is the best I have attended. I’ve been to several of the locations he plays and I’m never disappointed. Everyone always has a great time. Keep up the great work.

    Vida S.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    Tons of fun!!! Me and my bits had a blast on Saturday, played the hits!

    Jason J.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    A true gentleman of the mic. Every Thursday he sets up at Harbees, a Pilsen bar, and the karaoke begins.

    It depends what night of the week it is- and what Pilsen bar he’s at, but it’s guaranteed to be a good time when Pablo and The People’s Stage Karaoke are present.

    Bucio B.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    I can best be described as a Karaoke Queen. And as queen I decree that Pablo Karaoke show is the best in Chicago bar none! The People’s Stage Karaoke featuring Pablo Serrano offers a deep selection of music in both English and Spanish. Karaoke night with Pablo would feature a mix of rock, RB, Norteno, Banda, Mariachi, Hip Hop, and Rock en Espanol. This is all combined with eclectic dj mix between songs to add to the party atmosphere. The experience Pablo provides features key ingredients like the most current song list, stage lighting, cordless mics and on occasion back singing by Pablo himself. Karaoke, Pablo Serrano style is an art and even the most dedicated karaoke singer would find this to be an exceptional show!

    Yolanda O.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    “I don’t usually ‘do’ karaoke, but when I do – it’s only with The People’s Stage / Pablo Serrano!” This is absolutely true.

    Not only does he make investments in equipment [sound, lighting, good mics…] but he takes time to invest in *people*, too. He gets to know each venue, the people who come up to sing, the vibe of the crowd, etc.

    This is why he’s an awesome host – because he knows when to change-up the dance music, when to call certain people to sing, how to please those who’ve just arrived – and honestly wants to do the best possible job that he can so that everyone has a great time.

    I’ve witnessed these skills at four different venues – each varying widely in their clientele and atmosphere. Kudos to TPS!

    Lara K.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    On principle I never write reviews unless it pays off with a 50% OFF coupon or free sandwich. Never. On that same note, as a graduate student I have little to no time to stray away from the amount of reading and writing that I have to complete at any given time, on any given week. In addition to all this I don’t find it particularly genuine to give people “5 Starts” or thumbs up or whatever new term marketers and sociologist decide to invent to measure the efficacy of a certain product or person. I am an anthropologist ‘por gusto y oficio’ so I generally use qualitative methods of analysis. That being said, Pablo Serrano is the dopest, most 5 star Karaoke DJ I have ever met. I’m not worldly by any means, and don’t be fooled by the fact that I called myself an anthropologist and self identify as a graduate student, but Pablo bring a product that would be difficult to replicate anywhere in planet! I come from Chicago, and like Kanye, I won’t ever let you forget that. When my local bar in Pilsen, back when I used to live in Chicago, decided to revamp their scene I notice the music and lights in the windows on Friday nights. For years Caminos de Michoacan was the ‘chill spot’. Let’s go have a few beers and watch the game, vamos a ver las Chivas y comer chicharones con el Torres. When the People’s Stage Karaoke came to Caminos, and to the other great spots in Pilsen and the city, Pablo brought a level of community and camaraderie to a community that was, and in many ways still is, in a state of change. In no other place that I have sang Karaoke could I one minute sing a Marco Antonio Solis song and the next minute sing a Red Hot Chili Peppers classic and still get cheered on by the crowd. Pablo hit on a great idea, that almost seems like common sense, give the people what they want. The People’s Stage Karaoke delivers that on that idea.

    Ruben F.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    I always enjoy a night with Pablo and People’s Stage Karaoke because Pablo has a way of incorporating music from a variety of genres to keep everyone happy and it never gets boring!

    Mel C.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    I only frequent one bar. The bar is located in Pilsen. Caminos De Michoacan is a regular bar with regular people. I might stop by during the week but for a guaranteed good time stop in on a Friday. Awesome crowd and awesome music provided by Pablo Serrano. He provides any song you want to sing even if it’s not on a song on the lists he provided. Between people’s performances he’s spinning some of the best house music and alternative. It’s an awesome mix of yesterday’s music that has even the you get generation jamming. Feel free to approach him about any song as he is one of the nicest people.

    Carlos M.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    Pablo is very good at making us first timers comfortable to take the risk and then you end up falling in love with karaoke! Every where he plays it feels like “Cheers”. Extremely professional!

    Jose T.

  • 5/5 stars February 17, 2014

    The best. Has an outstanding collection of music. Creates a great atmosphere for dancing, singing, and an overall great time!

    Mike E.

  • 5/5 stars November 23, 2013

    The first time I experienced Pablo Serrano and the People’s Stage Karaoke was at a bar in Pilsen. I immediately knew it was going to be a good time had when I looked at the song selection and there everything in there from Britney, NIN, to Vicente Fernandez. Anytime I feel a song coming, I look up where People’s Stage Karaoke will be and I’m sure to check it out!

    Never a bad night with People’s Stage Karaoke going on.

    Jose G.

  • 5/5 stars September 29, 2013

    We wanted our wedding to be memorable and fun for friends and family, so we decided on karaoke instead of a band or a DJ. After meeting Pablo at Simone’s in Pilsen, we knew he was the man for the job. He clearly loves what he does and is committed to making everyone happy and comfortable, even if it means singing backup or working to find the perfect song and downloading it right then and there! He worked with us to cater to all our special requests, and he made sure there were natural transitions from one song to the next and that people had plenty to dance to while they waited for their turn on stage. He is a true professional AND a wonderful person!

    Adrian A.